Bivins Foundation Selects Katharyn Wiegand As President and CEO

Katharyn Wiegand, vice president of community investment for the Amarillo Area Foundation, has been selected as the incoming president and CEO of the Mary E. Bivins Foundation, effective June 4. She will follow Judy Day, who is retiring after 39 years of service.

“Katharyn has had an outstanding career with the Amarillo Area Foundation and has a true passion for the core elements of the Bivins mission, including its commitment to quality care for older adults, and we are very pleased to welcome her,” said Bivins Board Chair Gary Fletcher.

“The Amarillo Area Foundation and the Mary E. Bivins Foundation share a commitment to improving the quality of life for Texas Panhandle residents and have long recognized the value and importance of collaboration and community engagement when addressing important community issues,” Day said.

“Katharyn will continue to play a vital role in these conversations among both funders and non-profit organizations, and I’m confident the core values of dignity, independence, self-worth and good health will remain the cornerstone of the Bivins Foundation philanthropy to the Texas Panhandle under her guidance and leadership.”

Clay Stribling, CEO of the Amarillo Area Foundation, said, “I have great respect for Katharyn and look forward to continuing the successful collaborations we have had with the Bivins Foundation and other community funders.”

In addition to her work at the Amarillo Area Foundation, Wiegand is current president of the Canyon ISD school board, having been elected in 2011. Her professional and civic activities include Texas Education Grantmakers Consortium leadership team member, Nonprofit Management Alliance of Texas advisory board member, Association of Fundraising Professionals former chapter president, Amarillo North Lions Club former president, Amarillo Little Theater former board president and First Baptist Church of Amarillo member. She and her husband Steve have two sons.


2018 Board of Directors

Gary Fletcher

Tom Bivins
Vice Chair

Melvin Fowler

Bud Joyner
Immediate Past Chair

Julie Attebury

Miles Childers

Alan Keister

Deborah Kohler

Steve Urban

Judy M. Day
President and CEO